Home > News > The Next Leaders of The Beacon

The Next Leaders of The Beacon

The Beacon’s Executive Board, the governing body of the college’s newspaper, has announced nominations and offers for editor positions to six students.

The executive board has announced Kara-Marie Joyce ’15 will lead the paper as Editor in Chief. Schyuler Watkins ’14 will serve as Associate Editor in Chief, Jess Raver ’15, as Creative Director and Design Editor, Ashley Yenick ’14 as Copy Editor, Alex Maas ’14 as Media Editor and Patrick Bradley ’14 as Sports Editor.

“I am very excited about this talented group who will lead The Beacon and continue our efforts to provide the Merrimack College Community with a reliable and valued news source,” said Patrick Lawlor ’13, the current chairman of the executive board and editor in chief.

The Beacon’s Executive Board is made up of three members that lead the paper in policy, budget and oversight. The outgoing Executive Board members are Patrick Lawlor ’13, Chairman, Joan Corcoran ’13, Vice Chair, and Jillian Toce ’13, Ranking Member. Next year’s Executive Board will consist of Joyce as Chairwoman, Watkins as Vice Chair and Rave as the Ranking Member.

“I am very happy with this group, and confident they will continue with the momentum that we have had the last year,” said Lawlor. “I have a lot of faith in Kara and I am very happy she will lead the newspaper.”

Under The Beacon’s bi-laws, editors can either be elected by the staff or appointed by the executive board.

Next year will mark The Beacon’s twelfth publishing year as a student organization and the fourth year The Beacon has had an involvement in the academic curriculum. There are two course offerings in the Communication Arts and Sciences Department that teach aspiring communicators media production and new media application. Jim Chiavelli, an adjunct professor and advisor to The Beacon, teaches both courses. The Beacon prints bi-weekly on the academic calendar.

Leave a Reply